Share this article!

The Affordable Housing Tax Credit Coalition (AHTCC) announced the winners of its 2023 Charles L. Edson Tax Credit Excellence Awards, which celebrate affordable housing initiatives and the organizations providing the most impactful use of the Low-Income Housing Tax Credits.

“Skyrocketing rents continue to burden millions of American families, even in areas once considered affordable,” said AHTCC CEO Emily Cadik. “The Low-Income Housing Tax Credit is the best solution we have to address this growing crisis, and this year’s Edson Award recipients are innovators who demonstrate how affordable housing financed with the Housing Credit changes communities for the better.”

By category, the 2023 Edson Award winners are:

  • Rural Housing: The Meadows, Darlington, Wisconsin
  • Small Metropolitan Area: Gordon H. Mansfield Veterans Community, Tinton Falls, New Jersey
  • Large Metropolitan Area: The Loop at Mattapan Station, Boston
  • Housing for Veterans: Hilltop View Apartments, Dexter, Michigan
  • Housing for Seniors: Mary D. Stone Apartments, Auburn, Massachusetts
  • Housing for Native Americans or Tribal Populations: Mamook Tokatee — Portland, Oregon
  • Housing for Special Populations: Ruth Ellis Clairmount Center, Detroit
  • HUD Preservation Housing: Mississippi Region VI RAD LP, Central Mississippi
  • Historic Preservation Housing: T Building, Jamaica, New York
  • Green and Healthy Housing: Vital Brookdale, Brooklyn, New York

“This year’s Edson winners deserve recognition for their efforts to serve communities that have distinct needs and challenges across diverse populations,” said Ryan Sfreddo, president of the AHTCC board of directors and CEO of Red Stone Equity Partners. “Congratulations to these exceptional properties and organizations for their creativity and perseverance in developing affordable housing that transforms lives and neighborhoods across the country.”