Fannie Mae has named TRF Loan Acquisition, LP, the winning bidder for a portfolio of 1,179 nonperforming mortgages with $252.4 million in unpaid principal balance, moving its latest distressed-loan sale toward an expected December closing.
The award, announced by Fannie Mae on November 4, marks the next stage of the enterprise’s twenty-ninth nonperforming-loan sale, which it announced on October 8. The transaction is expected to close by December 15, 2026. BofA Securities assisted with marketing the portfolio.
What is in the awarded mortgage pool?
The loans have a combined unpaid principal balance of $252,413,010 and an average balance of $214,091. Their weighted-average note rate is 4.56%, while the weighted-average broker’s price opinion loan-to-value ratio is 50%, according to Fannie Mae.
Fannie Mae reported that the cover bid—the second-highest bid—was 97.084% of unpaid principal balance, or 48.44% of broker-price-opinion value. That figure is not the winning purchase price. The enterprise did not disclose the amount TRF Loan Acquisition agreed to pay.
What happens to borrowers?
The loans may change owners, but Fannie Mae’s sale requirements preserve important borrower protections. Purchasers must honor approved or in-process loss-mitigation efforts at the time of sale, including loan modifications.
Before initiating foreclosure on loans not secured by vacant or condemned properties at closing, purchasers must offer delinquent borrowers a sequence of alternatives. Those options include modifications that may involve principal forgiveness. The announcement does not promise that every borrower will receive principal reduction or qualify for a particular modification.
If foreclosure cannot be avoided, the owner must first market the property to owner-occupants and nonprofit organizations, under a process similar to Fannie Mae’s FirstLook program. These provisions matter because the sale of a delinquent loan does not, by itself, determine the borrower’s ultimate outcome.
From initial offering to winning bidder
WRE News covered Fannie Mae’s October offering, which included the larger loan pool and a separate Dallas-area Community Impact Pool. Wednesday’s announcement identifies the winning bidder for the $252.4 million pool. It should not be read as a completed sale of every loan included in the earlier marketed offering.
The announcement also is not a foreclosure count: the 1,179 loans are described as nonperforming, and the required loss-mitigation steps can affect how individual cases are resolved.
Why the transaction matters
For mortgage servicers and investors, the sale illustrates how Fannie Mae transfers credit exposure associated with seriously delinquent loans while attaching conditions designed to encourage workouts and protect neighborhoods. The difference between a portfolio’s unpaid principal balance, property-value estimates and the actual winning price is also critical to assessing its economics.
The next milestone is the anticipated December 15 closing. Until then, the award is a selected bid and expected transaction—not confirmation that the loans have already transferred.
Source: Fannie Mae, November 4, 2026 announcement of the twenty-ninth nonperforming-loan sale winner. Image: illustrative residential neighborhood photograph, Tom Rumble/Unsplash; not properties identified in the loan pool.
Simple Content Summary
Fannie Mae selected TRF Loan Acquisition, LP, to buy a pool of 1,179 nonperforming mortgages totaling $252.4 million in unpaid principal balance. Closing is expected by December 15. The winning price was not disclosed, and the buyer must honor existing loss-mitigation efforts and offer qualifying borrowers foreclosure alternatives.
Weekly Real Estate News







